Brooks Brothers 100% Camel Hair Sport Coat

This is one of several Brooks Brothers 3-button, sack cut sport coats I purchased recently at a local thrift store.  It’s 100% camel hair – perfect for fall and winter – and I picked it up for $15.00.  The top button is rolled on the lapel and is not visible, while the top button hole (also rolled on the lapel) is visible.  This is commonly called a 3/2 roll, and it is the quintessential look of the Ivy League.  I just checked the Brooks Brothers website and found a solid 100% camel hair 3-button sport coat listed for $548.00.  I think I did well!

Two minor alterations were needed:  the sleeves were slightly short and needed lengthening.  I like to show between 1/4 and 1/2 inch of cuffs.  There was also a ridge just below the collar, which needed to be taken out.  I got it back from the tailor yesterday, and I can’t wait for cooler weather so that I can wear it.

3-Button Front. The Top button is rolled on the lapel.

Leave a Reply

